تاريخ البنك المركزي العراقي

عندما كان العراق جزءا من الامبراطورية العثمانية، كان عددا من العملات الاوربية متداولة الى جانب الجنيه التركي. وبعد حدوث الانتداب البريطاني بعد الحرب العالمية الاولى اندمج العراق مع النظام النقدي الهندي المدار من قبل البريطانيين واصبحت الروبية العملة الرئيسية في التداول بسعر دينار = 13.33 روبية.

1930 - 1950

في عام 1931 تأسس مجلس عملة العراق في لندن لأغراض اصدار العملة الورقية والاحتفاظ بأحتياطي من عملة الدينار الجديد. انتهج مجلس العملة، سياسة نقدية تحفظية بالاحتفاظ باحتياطيات عالية للغاية كغطاء للدينار. وتعززت قوة الدينار بربطه بالباون البريطاني حيث تم ربطه بالسعر التعادلي مع الباون البريطاني لغاية عام 1959. 

في عام 1947 تأسس المصرف الوطني العراقي وهو مصرف حكومي والغي مجلس العملة في عام 1949 والذي تأسس في لندن حال تسلم المصرف الجديد مسؤولية اصدار العملة الورقية والاحتفاظ بالاحتياطي. واستمر المصرف الوطني العراقي بإتباع السياسة النقدية التحفظية والاحتفاظ بنسبة %100 من الاحتياطيات كغطاء للعملة المحلية القائمة.  

وخلال السنوات الاخيرة للحكم العثماني ،اصبحت الصيرفة التجارية عاملا هاما في التجارة الخارجية خلال الانتداب البريطاني. وقد هيمنت المصارف البريطانية، الا ان وكلاء النقد التقليديين واصلوا منح بعض من الائتمان المحلي وتقديم خدمات مصرفية محدودة. وقد تعثر توسع الخدمات المصرفية بالاستخدام المحدود للنقد وصغر حجم الاقتصاد وضآ لة مبالغ الادخار حيث قدمت المصارف خدمات للتجارة الخارجية بشكل حصري تقريبا. وفي اواسط الثلاثينيات قررت الحكومة العراقية انشاء مصارف لغرض توفير الائتمان للقطاعات الاخرى من الاقتصاد ،ففي عام 1936 اسست الحكومة المصرف الزراعي والصناعي. وفي عام 1940 انقسم المصرف الى المصرف الزراعي والمصرف الصناعي وزاد رأس المال المقدم من الحكومة  لكل منهما  بشكل كبير. اسست الحكومة مصرف الرافدين عام 1941 ليكون المصرف التجاري الرئيسي مع البنك المركزي، إلا أن المصرف الوطني العراقي اصبح هو بنك الحكومة عام 1947. ثم أسس المصرف العقاري عام 1948 وكان الغرض الرئيسي منه تمويل شراء الدور من قبل الافراد، وتاسس مصرف الرهون عام 1951 والمصرف التعاوني عام 1956. اضافة الى هذه المصارف الحكومية فقد افتتحت فروع للمصارف الاجنبية والمصارف العراقية الخاصة نتيجة لتوسع الاقتصاد.

1950 - 1990

في عام 1956 اصبح المصرف الوطني العراقي هو البنك المركزي العراقي. وشملت مسؤولياته اصدار وادارة العملة و الرقابة على  معاملات النقد الاجنبي والاشراف والرقابة على الجهاز المصرفي. احتفظ البنك بحسابات الحكومة وعمل على ادارة القروض الحكومية. وبمرور السنين  فقد وسع التشريع من صلاحيات البنك المركزي ففي عام 1959 تحول ربط العملة من الباون البريطاني الى الدولار الامريكي وبسعر دينار = 2.8 دولار.  

في 14 تموز 1964 أممت كافة المصارف وشركات التأمين و تعززت الصيرفة خلال العقد الثاني. وعلى اثر انخفاض قيمة الدولار عام 1971 و 1973، ارتفعت قيمة الدينار العراقي الى ما يعادل 3.3778 دولار للدينار الواحد.

بحلول عام 1987 تألف الجهاز المصرفي من البنك المركزي العراقي ومصرف الرافدين والمصرف الزراعي والمصرف الصناعي والمصرف العقاري. ادى تخفيض %5 من قيمة الدينار الى تراجع قيمته الى 3.2169 دولار وهو السعر الرسمي الذي استمر لحين حرب الخليج على الرغم من انه في اواخر عام 1989 سجل سعر السوق السوداء 1.86 دينار للدولار الواحد.

1990 - 2003

بعد حرب الخليج عام 1991 وبالنظر لفرض الحصار الاقتصادي لم تعد تقنية الطبع السويسرية مستخدمة كالسابق ،فقد ظهرت اصدارية جديدة من العملات الورقية ذات نوعية رديئة. واصبحت تعرف الاصدارية السابقة بالطبعة السويسرية واستمر التداول بها في منطقة كردستان العراق. وبالنظر للطبع الحكومي المفرط من الاوراق المالية الجديدة، فقد انخفضت قيمة الدينار بشكل سريع بحيث بلغت في اواخر عام 1995 3000 دينار للدولار الواحد.

2003 - اليوم

وعلى اثر خلع صدام حسين عند غزو العراق عام 2003 بدأ مجلس الحكم ومكتب الاعمار والمساعدات الانسانية بطبع المزيد من عملة صدام حسين الورقية كاجراء بديل مؤقت للحفاظ على عرض النقد لحين طرح العملة الجديدة.

تم اصدار قانون المصارف في 19 ايلول 2003، مما جعل اطار العمل القانوني للعراق في مجال الصيرفة متفقا والمعايير الدولية ويسعى  القانون الى تعزيز الثقة في الجهاز المصرفي وذلك بانشاء جهاز مصرفي منفتح وامن وسليم وتنافسي.

اصدرت سلطة الائتلاف المؤقتة خلال الفترة ما بين 15 تشرين الاول 2003 و 15 كانون الثاني 2004 عملة عراقية جديدة معدنية وورقية حيث طبعت العملات الورقية باستخدام تقنيات مضادة للتزوير من اجل خلق عملة واحدة موحدة تستخدم في كافة انحاء العراق وجعل النقود مناسبة اكثر للاستخدام في الحياة اليومية للجمهور واستبدلت العملات الورقية القديمة بالعملات الورقية الجديدة وبسعر واحد دينار قديم يعادل واحد دينار جديد باستثناء الدنانير السويسرية والتي استبدلت بسعر دينار سويسري قديم يعادل 150 دينار جديد.

تأسس البنك المركزي العراقي كبنك عراقي مستقل بموجب قانون البنك المركزي العراقي الصادر في 6 اذار 2004

يكون البنك مسؤولا عن:

  • الحفاظ على استقرار الاسعار
  • تنفيذ السياسة النقدية (بما في ذلك سياسات اسعار الصرف)
  • ادارة الاحتياطيات الاجنبية
  • اصدار وادارة العملة
  • تنظيم القطاع المصرفي للنهوض بنظام مالي تنافسي ومستقر

يقع المركز الرئيسي للبنك في بغداد وله اربع فروع في ( البصرة, الموصل, السليمانية و اربيل )

History of the CBI

When Iraq was part of the Ottoman Empire, a number of European currencies circulated alongside the Turkish pound. With the establishment of the British mandate after World War I, Iraq was incorporated into the Indian monetary system, which was operated by the British, and the rupee became the principal currency in circulation, at a rate of 1 dinar = 13⅓ rupees.

1930 - 1950

In 1931, the Iraq Currency Board was established in London for note issue and maintenance of reserves for the new Iraqi dinar. The currency board pursued a conservative monetary policy, maintaining very high reserves behind the dinar. The dinar was further strengthened by its link to the British pound, which was pegged at par with the British pound until 1959.

In 1947 the government-owned National Bank of Iraq was founded, and in 1949 the London-based currency board was abolished as the new bank assumed responsibility for the issuing of notes and the maintenance of reserves. The National Bank of Iraq continued the currency board's conservative monetary policy, maintaining 100 percent reserves behind outstanding domestic currency.

Initiated during the last years of Ottoman rule, commercial banking became a significant factor in foreign trade during the British mandate. British banks predominated, but traditional money dealers continued to extend some domestic credit and to offer limited banking services. The expansion of banking services was hampered by the limited use of money, the small size of the economy, and the small amount of savings; banks provided services for foreign trade almost exclusively. In the mid-1930s, the Iraqi government decided to establish banks in order to make credit available to other sectors of the economy. In 1936, the government formed the Agricultural and Industrial Bank. In 1940, this bank was divided into the Agricultural Bank and the Industrial Bank, each with substantially increased capital provided by the government. The government established the Rafidayn Bank in 1941 as both the primary commercial bank and the central bank, but the National Bank of Iraq became the government's banker in 1947. The Real Estate Bank was established in 1948, primarily to finance the purchase of houses by individuals. The Mortgage Bank was established in 1951, and the Cooperative Bank in 1956. In addition to these government-owned institutions, branches of foreign banks and private Iraqi banks were opened as the economy expanded.

1950 - 1990

In 1956 the National Bank of Iraq became the Central Bank of Iraq. Its responsibilities included the issuing and the management of currency, control over foreign exchange transactions, and the regulation and supervision of the banking system. It kept accounts for the government, and it handled government loans. Over the years, legislation has considerably enlarged the Central Bank's authority. In 1959 the peg was switched from the British pound to the United States dollar at the rate of 1 dinar = 2.8 dollars.

On July 14, 1964, all banks and insurance companies were nationalized, and, during the next decade, banking was consolidated. Following the devaluations of the U.S. currency in 1971 and 1973, the dinar rose to a value of US$3.3778.

By 1987 the banking system consisted of the Central Bank, the Rafidain Bank, the Agricultural, Industrial, and Real Estate banks. A 5 percent devaluation reduced the value of the dinar to US$3.2169, the official rate which remained until the Gulf War, although in late 1989, the black market rate was reported to be 1.86 dinars for US$1.

1990 - 2003

After the Gulf War in 1991, and due to the economic blockade, the previously used Swiss printing technology was no longer available. A new, inferior quality notes issue was produced. The previous issue became known as the Swiss dinar and continued to circulate in the Kurdish region of Iraq. Due to excessive government printing of the new notes issue, the dinar devalued quickly, and in late 1995, US$1 was valued at 3,000 dinars.

2003 - Today

Following the deposition of Saddam Hussein in the 2003 invasion of Iraq, the Iraqi Governing Council and the Office for Reconstruction and Humanitarian Assistance began printing more Saddam dinar notes as a stopgap measure to maintain the money supply until new currency could be introduced.

The Banking Law was issued September 19, 2003. The law brings Iraq’s legal framework for banking in line with international standards, and seeks to promote confidence in the banking system by establishing a safe, sound, competitive and accessible banking system.

Between October 15, 2003 and January 15, 2004, the Coalition Provisional Authority issued new Iraqi dinar coins and notes, with the notes printed using modern anti-forgery techniques, to "create a single unified currency that is used throughout all of Iraq and will also make money more convenient to use in people’s everyday lives. Old banknotes were exchanged for new at a one-to-one rate, except for the Swiss dinars, which were exchanged at a rate of 150 new dinars for one Swiss dinar.

The Central Bank of Iraq (Arabic: البنك المركزي العراقي) was established as Iraq's independent central bank by the Central Bank of Iraq Law of March 6, 2004

The bank is in charge of:

  • Maintaining price stability
  • Implementing monetary policy (including exchange rate policies)
  • Managing foreign reserves
  • Issuing and managing the currency
  • Regulating the banking sector for promoting a competitive and stable financial system

The bank’s head office is located in Baghdad with four branches in Basrah, Mosul, Sulaimaniyah and Erbil.